Fan News NEWS

NAIA World Series Coming Soon

Published by on April 28, 2011

May 27 marks the 55th Annual Avista-NAIA World Series. 

Many are more enthralled with the Road to Omaha and the enduring history that surrounds it, but there is tremendous history and excitement in the NAIA brand of baseball.

How rich is their history?

The World Series has been held every year since 1955, and this year’s host, Lewiston, has the honour of hosting for the 20th time. Crowds of over 700,000 have witnessed games in Lewiston. 

With the latest ratings just released, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Fla.) tops the list with 43 wins and 17 first-place votes. Oklahoma City University, California Baptist University, Lee University (Tenn.) and Cumberland University (Tenn.) round out the top five.

Those names should sound very familiar, as all but California Baptist have been mainstays in the World Series finals since 2002.

Will that streak continue this year? More than likely, as history usually repeats itself.

Cumberland University might possibly hold the key to this championship. Aaron Wilkerson is having one of the most dominant college seasons I have ever seen.

A little background f...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - College Baseball
Article is property of

Install the ratings plugin

Install the postviews plugin

add your commentadd this to deliciousadd this to diggshare this on facebookStumble this item

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

MLB Tickets